top of page

ITCA Annual Awards and Trophies


The ITCA sponsors a variety of annual trophies and awards for members achieving excellence in the show ring and trials. Originally trophies were awarded based on performance in the show ring. Later, trophies for Obedience and Agility were added.


A committee was appointed by the Irish Terrier Club of America in 1936 to make a study and then to submit recommendations for appropriate prizes or awards to be offered by the Club. This resulted in certain objectives or principles being formulated to govern the proposed competitions. 


Briefly they were:

  •  Competition to be open only to members of the Irish Terrier Club of America.

  • Opportunity for competition to be readily available to all members, wherever located.

  • Basis of competition to be equitable, considering the location of the Club member.

  • Awards to be based upon official published data. Competitions to be conducted without any effort on the part of the individual member of the Club.


Thus a member, wherever located, had only to exhibit at whatever shows were available, to be automatically competing for the Club trophies.

The American Kennel Club continually adjusts the point ratings in sections of the country, from time to time, on the basis of a statistical determination of the breed competition in those areas. Thus, competition in all areas of the country are equitable.

 In addition it was decided that:

  • Certain competitions should be open to Irish Terriers, imported or American-bred, owned by members.

  • Certain competitions should be limited to American-bred Irish Terriers owned by members.

  • Certain competitions should be rewards for the breeding activities of the members, regardless of the ownership of the specimens at the time of being exhibited.

  • Each competition should be complete within each calendar year.

  • Each trophy should be awarded outright for each competition.

  • Presentation of the trophies for the previous calendar year should be made at the annual meeting of the Irish Terrier Club of America.

  • Trophies should be of appropriate and distinctive design.


The proposals were approved and accepted at the Annual Meeting of the Club held in February, 1937. That year three trophies were awarded, namely the John R. Thorndike Memorial Trophy, the James Eager Memorial Trophy and the Premier Litter Trophy. Since that time trophies have been created and retired, and the others have had their conditions changed.

Annual Performance Trophies

The Suzanne N. Griffiths Obedience Trophy 
This trophy is awarded to the owner of the Irish Terrier with the highest average score at AKC obedience trials during the trophy year: the average to be determined form the three highest scores in the regular classes (three scores required to qualify). Established in 1958, Suzanne Griffiths’ name was given to the trophy in 2003.

Top Agility Irish Terrier 
For the member whose Irish Terrier is recognized as the AKC Top Dog in Agility based on qualifying scores and MACH points. 

Versatility Award
Developed in 2002, this award recognizes the versatility of the Irish Terrier. Dogs must earn specific AKC titles in at least 3 of the 5 activities: Agility, Conformation, Obedience, Rally and Tracking. There are 3 different levels of the trophy: Level One-Versatility Award, Level Two-Master of Versatility Award, Level Three-Super Versatility Award. 

ITCA Performance Coin, Performance Medal, Silver Medallion

These awards are presented for the Irish Terriers who have earned various levels of AKC titles in Agility-Standard, Agility-Jumpers, Rally, Obedience and Tracking. The requirement for the Silver Medallion is a Champion title in any of these activities.

ITCA Activity Coin

This award recognizes Irish Terriers who have earned their first AKC title in Barn Hunt, Diving Dogs, Flyball, Search and Rescue, Coursing, Fast CAT, Scent Work, Farm Dog and Tricks. One Activity Coin may be earned per Activity.

bottom of page